Nebula + Linux for nReal Air

Mirror mode is great on Linux. Would be great to have Nebula on Linux to get the virtual monitors and 6dof and have the monitors locked to the World instead of constantly in front of my face. Love the nReal Airs!

14 Likes

Thanks for your suggestion, I will record your request and give feedback. But I have to tell you that Mac and Windows are our priorities to realize this function.

2 Likes

I gotcha, Mac and Windows have all the users. Well, if it helps to save some effort. Here is GitHub - SimulaVR/Simula: Linux VR Desktop and I think you just need to support OpenXR on Linux. Also, https://stardustxr.org/ supports OpenXR. Would be cool if you can spare some man hours.

5 Likes

Adding support for Linux would also make integration with Steam Deck easier.

5 Likes

I’m a software developer and this would be ideal for me while I travel and I exclusively use linux so it’d be great to be able to have a triple monitor dev environment while I’m on the go. Please support linux and I’ll buy one right away!

6 Likes

I fully agree. Please make it happen, and please also release the sources so that people can package it for distros other than just Debian-based ones.

Or better yet, offer a true distro-agnostic package, like a Guix package or an Appimage.

I don’t own a Steam Deck but surely this is a huge user base of the Nreal glasses, Nebula for it and the new featues like the 21:9 curved screen, or multi-monitor, would make a lot of sense for it. Using 3-dof data to move the view in a fixed screen, like TrackIR does, would be awesome too.

4 Likes

Thanks for your suggestions. :smiley:

2 Likes

Another linux dev here! Also would be great to work with these. Steamdeck would also benefit from it :smiley:

4 Likes